It’s disability Jim… but not as we know it

G’day folks – it’s fun filled Naidex time (next week) and we we start this week’s blog with my personal thoughts on their hot new disability products showcased  in this pdf file they produced.I’m going to give my first impressions of the products having just opened the pdf and had a glimpse.

exhibit 1

The first products that hits me, ehm I mean is presented first is this thing. Apparently it’s called the Baros Mini Shuttle from 1st call Mobility. I’m sure I’ve seen a similar thing in a soft play area for 2 year olds. They will certainly see you coming in this for transfers around a hospital. It’s loud, ugly and chunky. Moving on…

G’day folks – it’s fun filled Naidex time (next week) and we we start this week’s blog with my personal thoughts on their hot new disability products showcased  in this pdf file they produced.I’m going to give my first impressions of the products having just opened the pdf and had a glimpse.

exhibit 1

The first products that hits me, ehm I mean is presented first is this thing. Apparently it’s called the Baros Mini Shuttle from 1st call Mobility. I’m sure I’ve seen a similar thing in a soft play area for 2 year olds. They will certainly see you coming in this for transfers around a hospital. It’s loud, ugly and chunky. Moving on…

Exhibit 2

Now we are stepping up a gear – quite a few I believe. This is one of those gadgets that turns you manual chair into a cycle. The BerkelBike Classic/Pro by Active Linkx comes in three models and not only can you hand cycle but you can push with your feet as well. A cool function is you can connect it up to a computer and use it indoors for training and peddle your way through a virtual world on your computer screen. How cool is that – this one would make it to my lottery list no problem – and you’d need a lottery win because it will set you back over 9K for the top model.

Exhibit 3

I’ve seen this before in a Science Fiction movie, no? It looks funky so let’s see what it does…. It’s apparently the H200 Wireless Hand Rehabilitation System. A bit of a mouthful but sounds cool as it delivers electrical stimulation to your arm muscles to help control your hand if you’ve had a stroke or similar – and essentially it enables you to dunk biscuits in milk judging by the photo (i’d have preferred an Oreo dunked in a mug of tea but each to their own).

Exhibit 4

Oh yes this has featured on that How It’s Made programme… then again… It’s a thing for dangling patient’s from to help them to walk. Looks like it should be part of a car painting automation process. It’s probably quite funky and I’d have a dangle 🙂

BT have brought us a phone with even BIGGER buttons and an audio boost.

Exhibiit 5Exhibit 6

Now we move on to the award for the tackiest item. I HATE things that have been tarted up in floral print or worse – you know the sorts, wellies for girls, hammers for women… I’m all for none medical design of walking aids but this is just crap… ladies and gentlemen I present to you the Moo Print folding walking stick.

or how about the equally naff ‘Union Jack’ print…

exhibit 7

Oh wait… it gets worse – the Blue Badge Company have brought us the ‘Love & Peace’ collection of wallet’s to hold and display a Blue Badge…. don’t all rush at once (pukes). For £15.45 I’d rather just throw my card on the dashboard rather then make a fashion statement. Still, you wouldn’t lose it would you!

poolpod-1

Now for something space age… my award for the most futuristic product goes to the Poolpod. It’s being trialled in 8 swimming pools across the UK later this year and dunks you in the pool within 20 seconds. It reminds me of a boat lift and I love the curvy futuristic design. If you can’t sit in the submersible wheelchair then you can stand up apparently. However, if you have a severe impairment of course and need a sling or pool chair with more support then this is fairly limited in who could use it. However, I like the concept because it is more dignified than being dangled off ropes in a sling or being cranked down on a seat (or crawling out in some other way).

Update: Thanks for the RT Poolpodproducts.co.uk – check out their video of the Poolpod in action.

exhibit9

Another futuristic design I liked was the Flo Standing and Walking Aid – a “Salvador Dali” style product by REthinkthings.

exhibit9-1

Any one fancy a bit of pole dancing… I presume this is what this floor to ceiling device is on Stand B45?

Moving on…

Imagine the horror if you’re in a hospital and the nurse comes in and shouts “we’re gonna need the Titan 250 hoist”. Don’t you just love the names of products in the Bariatric range?

rollerscoot

Finally I present to you… well I’m not quite sure what. It’s called the Rollerscoot, it says it’s designed with hygiene in mind and has replaceable seat and cushions…. and it’s a new type of mobility vehicle. Personally I can’t work out which way up it goes or when or how on earth you’d use it…. I will leave you to figure it out lol.

UPDATE: I have found out that Naidex made a boo boo! Apparently they attached the wrong description to the product (and not only this one) – so I award Naidex with the Plonker Award. I reveal to you the mystery that is – The RollerScoot 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

