To Lock – or not to Lock – my answer?

To Lock – or not to Lock – that is the question? – Accessible Outlook.

Here are my personal thoughts on whether accessible (disabled) toilets should be locked with RADAR keys.

You may recall a previous blog about my unbelievable experience of the (not locked) accessible toilet at a service station being used a dressing room by a wedding party [update and again here at Premier Inn]!

I need super accessible toilets which are unisex and large enough to transfer to the toilet from 90 degrees. Accessible toilets are scarce and hard to locate in the configuration I need at the best of times as the layout and space inside them varies.

I also have to transfer in bare feet and grab onto rails. I need a toilet that is cleaner than most, hasn’t been used to deal drugs in and isn’t soaked in pee and poop or have yucky stuff smeared all over the parts I have to grab onto.

Unlocked toilets can be vandalised, used to deal / do drugs and drunk people often poo and pee on the floor amongst other things. Locking them can go some way into make them safe, clean and available quickly – especially if people need to use catheters, pads, bags and other things. Even parents with toddlers often use unlocked ones and leave them in a state.

I do not think toilets in shopping malls and hotels are exempt from people who show no respect to keep facilities safe and clean and I value all those locked with RADAR keys.

2 thoughts on “To Lock – or not to Lock – my answer?

  1. 100% with you on this. If I need help with a lock there is always someone about as I never go to a loo in the desert or travel alone in the wilderness. RADAR locked loo’s are better treated than those open to the general public

Leave a Reply

