Planted my succulents

Today was planting day for my succulents.

Firstly I washed the roots (well moistened up the soil) to get some of the compost out. Some of them were in heavy composted soil with nothing to let air in which I read is bad for them. I dried them out in the sun to avoid root rot setting in. I’ve put them in a mix of 2 parts peat free compost, 2 parts perlite and 1 part fine light cat litter. Haven’t a clue if this mix will work for me as this a matter of heated debate amongst succulent enthusiasts.

I’ve also taken some cuttings. I’m drying out leaves that have come clean of the stem. Once the ends have sealed over I’ll rest them on my soil mix to see if they take.

20130709-174900.jpg

20130709-174930.jpg

One thought on “Planted my succulents

Leave a Reply

