Mexican Casserole

On a Tuesday, I often do some baking and cook something for tea. Baking is something I really enjoy (and I have a PA who is very good at it). I read out the instructions from my iPhone and my PA gives me feedback on how things are looking or feeling. I can’t see much of what goes on as the kitchen worktops are too high. However, what is important is to feel involved and in control throughout. With a good PA I can trust them to measure things accurately and assess how things are going and describe or show me what things look like along the way.  In the last year I have started cooking a meal for when my husband comes home from work. It’s the only thing I can do for him amongst the endless list of things he does for me. It at least gives him one night off cooking.

So this Tuesday I did our favourite Enchilada Casserole and here is the recipe. The great thing with this recipe is that you don’t have to be accurate on the quantity.

20130807-140420.jpg

Throw into a pan the following: 500 grams of minced beef, half a cup of chopped onion and the spices from an Enchilada Sauce and spice combo jar (Discovery brand is good).  For a creamier casserole, use half the beef.

Let it sizzle until the meat browns and the onion softens.

Next, add some pinto beans (either drained from a can or like I do and soak some overnight, boil for around 10 mins and simmer for 50 or until soft).  I use about half a measuring jug of un-soaked beans which is a full measuring jug when soaked.

Wearing a full protective body suit (you may still be wearing this from cutting up the onion), dice up 2 chilli peppers – green is good. Wash your hands at least twenty times before using the bathroom. Add to the pan and just leave it on simmer until you are ready to use it. If it’s going a bit dry – add half a cup of water.

20130807-140449.jpg

Now make up the white sauce. In a small bowl put in 300ml of sour cream (that’s one small carton – low fat is good), a mushed up garlic clove and 2 and a half table spoons of plain flour. Mix it around and voila!

So now you need to layer it up in an oven proof dish thats about 5 inches high.

20130807-140510.jpg

The layers are: 2-3 corn tortillas (these are exactly the same size as our dish!), half of the meat, half of the sour cream mix, half of the enchilada sauce. Then repeat.

20130807-140546.jpg

You can either cook it straight away or cover and pop it in the fridge for eating later in the day. Crank up the oven to 350F / 176C and cook for 40 minutes (covered), adding grated cheese for the last 5 minutes (uncovered).

20130807-140600.jpgThe tortillas will go squidgy/chewy and you will have a spicy, cheesy, tomato bean feast 🙂

Leave a Reply

