Shrimp day has arrived

IMG_9707

 

Yesterday my shrimp arrived. 4 red Fire Sakura and 4 Orange Sakura. I ordered from Sharnbrook Shrimp which come next day delivery. Alas this meant getting up early at 9.45 and I just about made it our of the bathroom before the doorbell went!

Once they arrived, I had to check firstly that they were alive. They came double bagged in a polystyrene box for live shipments. It was good weather so they didn’t need a heat pack. It was 16 degrees in their water. They were all health and happy so the next step was to acclimatise them.

When you learn about shrimp, the first thing you discover is they are very sensitive to change in their water conditions – so new water parameters have to be introduced slowly.

My method 

IMG_9735

I cut the bag as instructed (removing the outer bag and then ensured the cut let them float into the water rather than  be tipped). Some were a bit reluctant to go out and needed a bit of encouragement! I gave them a bit of cover and a rock to hide around and monitored the temperature.

I syringed out most of the water – so they just had enough in to cover them and feel comfy swimming around.

Once they had reached 23 (my tank temperature) I had to use a wheat back from the freezer to put around the bowl or they would have cooked in the sun!

It was fairly easy keeping them at a good temperature. I then spent nearly 7 hours, sitting with them, slowly dripping in tank water. It was too tricky to set up a drip feed from my tank so I did it manually. In between I did some paper crafting and my PA baked!

Eventually they were in two thirds tank water, so I took some out and slid them into the tank.

They are pretty hungry and munching my algae.

I put in a quarter of a dried Indian Almond Leaf (Catappa leaves) . This will soften up the water and provide some extra nutrition.

Keeping them cool

IMG_9776

Kevin set up my cooler and made a nice little cupboard for it to stand on. I keep my most used shrimp things in the cupboard and the cooler is keeping them at 23-24 degrees C.

My cooler is pretty much the only one for a small tank that is available – D-D DC-300.  It moves 200 litres per hr (on minimum) so the filter has to be a bit stronger than that to push the water through (no motor on the cooler). My external filter just about does it on max. My room is regularly 24 degrees and tops 30 in the summer. Last year my shrimps were fried in the community tank when we had a heatwave just as we went on holiday!

When it comes on, it’s fairly noisy but within 20 seconds to a few minutes it cools it down to 23 and goes off again. It is a thousand times better than worrying how they are and running backwards and forwards with iced bottles to put in the tank.

Fans only drop the water by 2-3 degrees, so a cooler was the only option. They don’t need a heater at night neither so that’s good.

What else have I done since my last post?

I did a 3.5 day black out. We covered my tank in 5 bin liners to black it out. When they came off, all the brown algae on my leaves had died and the green algae (thread sort) was also mostly gone. I am keeping some algae in the tank for the shrimps so won’t aim to get rid of it all.

My water is crystal clear and so far so good.

The black out increased the PH a little and also Nitrates quite a bit – but that should now come back down.

My 11W light is now on a timer for 5 hours a day from 1-6 and bright sunshine during normal daylight hours (but not direct sun).

 

Leave a Reply

