Review: Floating/submerged moss ball

Not all moss ball ‘kits’ are the same.  Let’s look at products from two eBay retailers (both importing from China).

  
These plastic domes are filled with a fine layer of aquatic moss to create either a floating or floor ball. Only a table spoon of moss is needed for each ball (no room for much more).

First up – from ‘plantsforyourtank’ – £4.49 plus postage.

I ordered the floor version. It comes with filled with small balls of fertiliser. I removed these (the golden rule of don’t put it in the tank if you don’t know what exactly it is).

The ball comes in 3 parts. A plastic mesh cover which has a spike to push this basket outer layer onto a preformed dome shape (and the hollow dome has a base which un screws). I replaced the fertiliser with larva rock fragments. It felt pretty heavy but I still had to anchor it in my tank as it floated.

It was easy to use and held together well.

  
 I ordered 2 more from ‘sseariver2009’ – in the floating version as I could get 2 for £4.99.

However, these were disappointing.

First of all, the picture showed the weights to be glass beads (inert and safe for tanks) [top of picture below]. They were actually metal engraved coins (bottom of the picture was my kit). I would never risk unknown metal of this nature in my tank). The plastic was poorly fitting and very difficult to put together. Overall, poor quality.

 
  
I will let you know how well they grow or if the moss just rots.

3 thoughts on “Review: Floating/submerged moss ball

    • Hi, no it totally failed !!! The moss grew out a little but in long strips through the holes – so the ball never covered and then the inner moss died. They also did not float straight due to moss growth patterns and the fact you could never get the together exactly in the centre. All in all, they didn’t work at all. Maybe a different moss type would form a ball more easily but I’m skeptical. – Louise

Leave a Reply

